Vegan Red Curry “Egg” Noodles W/ Eggplant, Tofu & Pineapple

I was so stoked to find shrimp-paste-free curry paste at the local Asian market because I have been craving curry on this vegan-kick. I found vegan red & green curry pastes and a premade curry gravy in these really convenient mini-cans, great for smaller batches. I decided on the red for tonight because I wanted pineapple in it and the two go great together. I also happened upon a pack of “imitation egg noodles” which they had in chow mein style and wide egg noodle style. I picked the chow mein just to try them out and see how I liked them. They are so good! I can’t even tell the difference. So, if you have vegetables, a can of coconut milk, some curry paste and a hunger for spice, this is an easy dish to satisfy you.

You will need:
can of coconut milk
diced mixed vegetables (eggplant is highly recommended, I also used green beans, spinach, zucchini and cherry tomatoes)
can of diced pineapple
red curry paste
1/4-1/2 block of diced tofu
“egg” noodles
salt
sugar

First, cut up your vegetables and put them in a steamer. I put my eggplant in first for a few minutes because it takes the longest to cook. Then the rest of the veggies until they are still crisp but almost cooked.

Drop your noodles into boiling water and then turn the burner off. Let them soften a minute or two and make sure to poke them with a wooden spoon to break the bunches up into loose noodles. Try a noodle after 5-10 minutes to see if it is cooked. If it is, strain the noodles and douse them in cold water so they don’t overcook.

Pour your can of coconut milk into a large pan and turn heat on med/low. Stir in about 2-3 tablespoons of curry paste, or to the spiciness you are comfortable with. Once you have a thick bubbly gravy, mix in your diced tofu, pineapple and vegetables and mix everything around. The noodles should go in last as they tend to soften, but once you mix those in, taste everything and just add salt and sugar to taste.

I served my noodles over chopped spinach because I live in San Francisco and have to do hippie shit like that to fit in. The warmth of the food and the curry gravy will cook the spinach a bit, but there will still be a nice crunch. The spinach and the pineapple also provide a mild escape from some of the spice, if you made it spicy like I did. This is a good move to balance everything out. ENJOY!

